Upgrade Right Click Tools Version

Upgrading to the latest release of Right Click Tools lets you take advantage of new features, performance improvements and bug fixes.

You can download the most recent version from the Recast Portal. All Right Click Tools components, including Recast Management Server, Recast Proxies, and Recast Agents, can be installed right over the existing version. 

NOTE: To upgrade Right Click Tools versions older than 4.x, Recast recommends uninstalling the old version before installing a newer release.

Upgrade Workflow

When upgrading Right Click Tools with Recast Management Server, install new versions of Recast software in the following order:

  1. Recast Management Server
  2. Recast Proxies
  3. Right Click Tools
  4. Recast Agents

NOTE: When Recast Management Server and Recast Proxy are installed on the same computer, both are updated when you run the Recast Management Server installer.

Install an Update

You must run the Right Click Tools installer anywhere you have Right Click Tools installed on a Configuration Manager console. You can also create a Configuration Manager application to install software updates.

To install the upgrade, double-click the downloaded installation file and follow the installer prompts.

You can check that the upgrade is complete within Programs and Features.

NOTE: If Right Click Tools is not connected to Recast Management Server, kiosk profiles must be redeployed after a license update to copy new licensing information to kiosk devices.

Uninstall an Update

If ever required, you can revert to a previous version of Right Click Tools by downloading an archived release and installing it over the more recent software version.

To download an archived release:

1. Log into the Recast Portal.

2. Click the Resources tab and select Archived Releases

3. In the Download column, click the blue download icon for the software version you want to install.

Systems upgraded to Recast Software Version 5.0 BETA can only be reverted to a previous Recast Software version with a clean install, which will return settings to defaults. It’s recommended that the v5.0 BETA be deployed as a new installation on a separate server as this offers the option to revert quickly to an existing 4.x release.